Speed, Quality, Price (pick two)

pick-two

 

A few years ago, fate connected me to a true story about a woman, that few have ever heard about. So profound was the story that I began to research the possibility of making it into a film. Having never produced a feature film before, it was indeed an undertaking. However, when I set my mind to something, I do it. For me, for most of us, it is about seeing one’s goal and getting there. I’ve run thirteen marathons (completed 11). Marathoning teaches you something.

I have been blessed with exceptional friends and business colleagues who know me and my abilities. They listened to my story and offered to invest time and money to help me put this project together. I did, however, know my strengths and shortcomings. Like the fact that I can not sustain a 10 minute mile pace for 26.2 miles, I knew I could not raise a 7-15 million dollar budget as a first time producer. But, I could raise between 3-5 mil. And coupled with my excellent negotiating skills, I’d be able to produce a 5 million dollar film that looked like it had a 10 mil budget. So, the matrix I was working in was to create a great product on the cheap. This would take time.

Ahh,,,time. Speed, or the lack of it. It has been said, time and health are two precious assets that we don’t recognize and appreciate until they have been depleted. So, forty-eight months into the development process I’ve juggled some significant health issues (with the associated costs), terminated a key player of my creative team, replaced that person with a high-profile, industry recognized up-and-comer, and continued to move the entire project forward.

Quality and price. My commitment to this project and all the people involved in it.

marathon_ts

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

