In My Brother’s Shoes

Image

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum……

 

….well, not to me exactly…to my wife, Lucia. While she was on a location scouting trip for our film Anita and, oh heck, I’ll just let her tell the story in her own words…

 

In June 2009, I was standing in front of the obelisk in St. Peter’s Square in Rome, waiting to meet a film colleague. Amid the bustle of clergy, locals, travelers on pilgrimage and endless photo-snapping tourists, a somewhat husky young American man in his thirties leaned against the railing near me. We struck up a conversation, and I noticed that he was sweating profusely in the humidity. He also happened to be wearing a pair of boots that didn’t fit him properly and were practically torn to shreds – as if he had walked halfway around the world in them. When I asked what brought him to Rome, he pointed to his shoes and said, ‘My younger brother…he was a Marine. He got killed in Iraq…a roadside bomb.’ The young man, smiling and out of breath but with tears in his eyes, went on to explain that his brother always wanted to come to Rome but never had the chance. So the man standing before me took it upon himself to fulfill that dream. He put on his brother’s boots, which were too tight, and vowed not to take them off until he visited all the sights that his sibling would have wanted to see in and around Rome. I was so moved by this encounter, I felt compelled to share this man’s story. This short film, In My Brother’s Shoes, is a tribute to all the service men and women, and their loved ones, who embark on a path of sacrifice and hope.” – Lucia Mauro

 

http://www.inmybrothersshoes.com

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

