Stay Hungry and Work With What You’ve Got.

Recently another producer asked me, “how can you make a movie like yours on the budget you have alotted?” His question got me thinking about some of these cooking shows I see on cable, where the chefs are given a limited amount of specific (often odd) ingredients to whip up a tasty gourmet meal – often in a very limted time.

Chef Aaron Sanchez on 'Chopped'

Filmmaker Keenen Ivory Wayans  said big budget filmmaking didn’t suit him because the mind-set there is that money is the answer. I believe he is right, as our project has been over 10 years in development and throughout that time I done nothing but search, bargain and negotiate. I have over a million dollars of savings in “service deals” which makes our film not a $1.5 million dollar production but more like a 3 million dollar film. Or, in Hollywood parlance, “Just under 5 Mil.”

I guess I’m just the Frugal Gourmet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

